Chester Beatty Papyrus I – Heru and Set

The Seven Worlds

Heru Falcon Wallers Art MuseumLeft: Figure of a Horus Falcon, between circa 300 and circa 250 BC (Greco-Roman). The Walters Art Museum.

Chester Beatty Papyrus

The Contendings of Horus and Seth is a mythological story from the Twentieth dynasty of Ancient Egypt found in the first sixteen pages of the Papyrus Chester Beatty I  and deals with the battles between Horus (Heru) and Seth (Set) to determine who will succeed Osiris (Ausar) as king.

The Papyrus Chester Beatty I dates to the twentieth dynasty during the reign of Ramesses V and likely came from a scribe’s collection that was recorded for personal entertainment. The papyrus contains the story of The Contendings of Horus and Seth and also various other poetic love songs.

View original post 622 more words

5 thoughts on “Chester Beatty Papyrus I – Heru and Set

  1. Pingback: follow me

  2. I simply want to tell you that I am just newbie to blogs and truly loved your website. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You actually come with outstanding article content. Many thanks for sharing with us your web page.

Leave a Reply

