Week Two – Royal Diaries: Cleopatra VII, Daughter of the Nile

Age is just a page number

cleo

“I wanted to stomp out of the banquet hall, but that would have been the temper of a twelve-year-old, not the noble response of a princess.”

This is about as far in the opposite direction of Peter Pan as you can get in a book for youth. It’s the first person story of a female protagonist based on historical fact, and I had completely forgotten it existed until two weeks ago. I was at a bookstore and saw Cleopatra lying haphazardly on a table. I think I may have dropped everything to point and gape.

As it turns out there’s 18 books in the Royal Diaries series, and even some TV movies based on them including this one so obviously I have to check that out. The only books I had though were Cleopatra and Marie Antoinette, and I loved them. They’re beautiful hardcovers with gold trimmed pages that…

View original post 508 more words

Leave a Reply

